Eminem and his “ban” on Profanity in his household.

Below is an article I found about Eminem and his “take” on parenting. Now before reading this article I just want to point how ironic his statement is–being that he is a rapper where profanity is in a 100% of his songs, and I’m assuming that he realizes that as an artist, and a famous rapper  that he is deemed a role model to many young boys. Yes being a parent is about guiding our children, BUT as a parent(if anything) shouldn’t you aim to be role model not just for your child(who will eventually listen to your music by the way) but for other children who may look up to you? Maybe I’m reading too much into this.  But when musicians–who’ve had a profound impact on their listeners lives–make statements such as Eminem I can’t help but a feel a mixture of  admittedly judgmental opinions. On one hand I’m happy that these musicians aren’t teaching their children what they teach the rest of us in their songs. On the other hand I’m disappointed that these musicians aren’t using their celebrity status in more positive ways. Anyway here is the article that I found from Lifesite News:

“WASHINGTON, D.C., October 8, 2010 (LifeSiteNews.com) – Marshall Mathers, the popular rap music star known as “Eminem,” told CBS that despite what his lyrics may indicate about him, he has no tolerance for profanity at home.

“Profanity around my house? No,” Eminem told reporter Anderson Cooper, who profiled the rapper for CBS’s upcoming “60 Minutes” program. Cooper’s exclusive interview with Eminem is scheduled for this Sunday, October 10 at 7 p.m. Eastern and Pacific.

Eminem’s music features lyrics that notoriously range from the extremely sexually graphic and obscene to the mildly profane. But CBS reports that while the rap star says that his music does reflect something of his real life and how he feels, he considers the use of profanity just part of his art form.

At home, it’s an entirely different story, he says. He has zero tolerance for foul language, adding that at home, “I don’t cuss.”

“I’m a parent. I have daughters,” Eminem tells Cooper. “I mean, how would I really sound, as a person … walking around my house [saying] ‘Bi**h, pick this up,’ you know what I mean?”

As for youth who imitate the language in his songs, Eminem lays the blame on parents who don’t do their jobs raising their kids, not himself.

“I feel like it’s your job to parent them” he said. “If you’re the parent, be a parent.”

One thought on “Eminem and his “ban” on Profanity in his household.

Leave a Reply

